Miranda IM

Thread: My Yahoo account has been deleted...

donotbugme Guest

My Yahoo account has been deleted...

Hi
    A few days ago I logged in Yahoo messenger via Miranda (as usual) and I received an automated message from a user which name I cannot exactly recall (hahanha_something) saying something like: "Your account has been reported for abuse. Your account will be deleted in 24 hours, etc etc"
    Since then, I can no longer sign in to Yahoo via Miranda nor in other Yahoo services via web, which is very frustrating since I'm an admin of a yahoogroup and I cannot manage it anymore.
    Obvioulsy, I don't know what abuse I'm accused of.
    I got in touch with Yahoo and all the details I provided to them seem not enough and they even want me to send my details (photo ID included!!??) via regular mail or fax, which is something that I'm not willing to do because it implies a cost on my part...

Could this be related to using Miranda IM as IM client?
    Did anybody else receive this kind of message?
    thanks

Are you sure you visited the correct yahoo page and not a spoofed one ?
    Try visiting the secure site (https) and see if anything changes.

See my post regarding spoofing on Yahoo. Maybe we could help each-other. ;-)

donotbugme Guest
    @eblis
    I tried https and same results. Definately not spoofed...

@Drugwash
    The signin page was different from the ones you post (i guess it's the "usual" one), but I would say it's just Yahoo trying new designs, and with really bad taste as well...

Anyway, I've been providing them with the info they request 3 times so far: