Miranda IM

Thread: Don't mean to raise the dead, but I have a question.

Don't mean to raise the dead, but I have a question.

I do realize this has been discussed (quite a lot), but I have a question that I don't think has been specifically asked before. I did a search and it turned out to be fruitless, so that's why I'm making a new thread.

Anyway, on with it. I realize that the custom emoticon feature of MSN Messenger and Windows Live Messenger is patented, or is going to be, or for whatever other reason, it's not being implemented in Miranda IM.

I'm a pretty proficient programmer in a few of the more well known languages, and was considering developing a simple plugin to simply pull custom emoticons that have been received already from the corresponding folder and display them in the conversation window. Which brings me to the main question:

If the source code is completely original (written from the ground up with no reverse engineering), is it still considered infringement? I see a lot of open source applications make use of features present in commercial applications all the time, but since the source code is original and not stolen, it's legit. A good example is ReactOS, just to name a big one.

Sorry for blabbing. If I were to make a simple plugin to only do that one thing, would it be legit? It's not like I'm implementing the entire feature set of custom emoticons in one program or anything, just taking what's already given to me, the emoticons in the folder, and displaying them in the message window.

Thanks for reading the whole thing carefully and putting in some consideration before responding to a seemly old topic. It's much appreciated ;)

Quote Originally Posted by brass2themax View Post
    I do realize this has been discussed (quite a lot), but I have a question that I don't think has been specifically asked before. I did a search and it turned out to be fruitless, so that's why I'm making a new thread.