Miranda IM

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How to make Miranda portable?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    January 2007
    Posts
    3

    How to make Miranda portable?

    As I know Miranda 0.6.3 was portable straight out of the box, but 0.6.5 seems to save everything to the registry. How I can switch to the old behavior to make it 100% portable?

    CU
    Andy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    March 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,747
    Nothing is saved in the registry but the install directory. Everything else is stored in your profile database as always. The location of this is set in mirandaboot.ini. If you want it to be portable, change your profiledir to "." without the quotes.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    March 2005
    Posts
    8,345
    And if you don't want Miranda to save its path in the registry, you might try editing the database:

    http://forums.miranda-im.org/showthr...9855#post29855

  4. #4
    Join Date
    January 2007
    Posts
    3
    Yeah, I saw it in the ini, too. Obviously they forgot to change it back to the dot, because the description still tells 'Default .'

    @Tara: I use the zip package anyway.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    March 2005
    Posts
    8,345
    Quote Originally Posted by tripex View Post
    @Tara: I use the zip package anyway.
    Sorry, I'm afraid I'm not sure what your point is ... it's miranda32.exe that saves the key in the registry. It does not matter if you use the installer or simply unzip the files.

    But, if you just needed to have the database in another location, that registry entry should not make much difference for you :)
    Last edited by Tara; 6 Feb 2007 at 1:53 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    January 2007
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Tara View Post
    it's miranda32.exe that saves the key in the registry.
    Well, that's what I didn't expect, but on the other hand as a Win user I got to use software which blows up the registry without any hesitations.

    As long as an application is still portable I don't care too much.

    CU
    Andy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    March 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,747
    Quote Originally Posted by tripex View Post
    Well, that's what I didn't expect, but on the other hand as a Win user I got to use software which blows up the registry without any hesitations.

    As long as an application is still portable I don't care too much.

    CU
    Andy
    The key is only used by the installer to determine where the default install is. It isn't actually used anywhere else AFAIK. It's just one key written on miranda32.exe startup.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    March 2005
    Posts
    8,345
    Quote Originally Posted by rainwater View Post
    The key is only used by the installer to determine where the default install is. It isn't actually used anywhere else AFAIK. It's just one key written on miranda32.exe startup.
    dbtool seems to use it too. But still, the lack of the key (or a location different than the one specified in it) does not prevent it from working, so it shouldn't be an issue :)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    March 2005
    Posts
    9,533
    There's even a screenshot in that thread. :-P

Similar Threads

  1. [resolved] Miranda portable not really portable.
    By Innomen in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 13 Jul 2009, 5:11 AM
  2. Ultra Portable Miranda...
    By alexlx in forum Feature Requests
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13 Feb 2008, 4:18 AM
  3. portable miranda
    By user in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 24 Oct 2007, 10:05 PM
  4. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 19 Sep 2007, 4:51 PM
  5. Miranda Portable
    By YtseJam in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18 Aug 2006, 12:40 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •